Stirling Castle

It’s new year, a new semester, and there are loads of new adventures on the horizon. I was actually meant to have an adventure last Saturday – my friends and I were going to travel to the Scottish highlands for the weekend to go hiking and play in the snow. Unfortunately, life happened and I got sick. Good show, immune system. Yeah, real good.

Anyway, rather than be sad about the situation, I thought I would share some of the photos I took when I went to Stirling Castle last semester. Enjoy!

Any Sherlock fans out there? This isn’t the Baker Street, but it still got me really excited.

IMG_5670

Again, this isn’t the castle (I feel like I’m being a let down already), but I really liked the geometry and textures on the wall. Also, don’t let the clear blue sky fool you – it was freezing!

IMG_5681

Just around the corner from the crumbling wall was a graveyard and, in the distance, Stirling Castle (yay!). The graveyard was surprisingly peaceful and the view it provided of the city was stunning.

IMG_5694

See what I mean? This was actually taken from the castle, but as the castle (and graveyard) were on a hill, this sight could be seen from anywhere.

IMG_5788

Hello cute houses and grassy slopes…

IMG_5789

Hello castle turrets and the city beyond the wall. I’m actually slightly obsessed with this photo. iPhone 5, you’ve done me proud!

IMG_5808

But enough of outside the castle, how about the inside? This is only a small part of the inner courtyard. Not too shabby, eh?

IMG_5730

Inside, there’s large fireplaces with brilliantly coloured tapestries and paintings hung throughout. The most common ones featured a lion (like this one) or a unicorn (the national animal of Scotland).

IMG_5739

The ceilings were pretty rad too.

IMG_5743

Through the courtyard and around the back was a large garden. Historically, archers would go on the hill to get a better vantage point during battle and come down to the grassy area to take cover.

IMG_5773

As I rounded the corner of the garden, I stumbled upon the servant’s quarters. I actually wouldn’t mind living in that wee house. It seems quite cozy.

IMG_5777

I’ll leave you with a cheeky panorama of the castle. Although this photo makes it look small, Stirling Castle is actually giant. My friends and I spent 6 hours going through all the building and enjoying the grounds.

IMG_5711

Until next time,

Ailish

Leave a Reply

