Thai Spiced Eggplant Curry

I feel like I must start this post with a disclaimer. This is not an authentic curry recipe. This is an Ailish wanted something spicy, warm, and comforting, recipe. Be warned. It’s delicious. Be warned. Cook your rice all the way before eating.

I feel like that last warning really decreases my credibility as a cook. At least I’m not accidentally grabbing 400˚F things out of the oven with my bare hands anymore.

Moving on…

I would do all of the fancy intros that most food bloggers do before they post their recipe. But I’m not going to because I’m not a food blogger. Also, I only took one photo of my food. I only have one shot to make your mouth water and your subconscious shout “I need this now!”

But really, I was hungry. Don’t pout at me. I had to re-microwave my food for 30 seconds to make it piping hot again. Oh the horror.

Anyways, enough of my rambling! The recipe I threw together by myself *drumroll*

This curry is so special it deserves twinkle lights. In September. You're welcome.
This curry is so special it deserves twinkle lights. In September. You’re welcome.

INGREDIENTS FOR CURRY:

  • 1 medium butternut squash, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 bunch kale, de-ribbed and torn
  • 1/2 inch piece ginger, minced
  • 1-2 heaping tbsp red curry paste, spooned
  • 1/2 – 1 C full fat coconut milk, shaken not stirred
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Brown or white rice, properly cooked

INGREDIENTS FOR CHICKEN:

  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • Curry powder, salt, pepper
  • Olive oil

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350˚F *
  2. Place chicken in a baking dish, lightly drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt, pepper, and curry powder until it looks/smells right
  3. Pop chicken in oven for 25-35 minutes, depending on their size **
  4. Begin cooking your rice
  5. Now, chop, tear, and mince the stuff for the curry
  6. Plop the curry paste into a large, preheated skillet. Let it cook for a minute or so until it makes the kitchen smell nice and your housemates jealous
  7. Then add the ginger and all of the veggies except the kale. Stir for 5 ish minutes to coat
  8. Pour in coconut milk, stir
  9. Plop in kale, cover to wilt, then stir to incorporate
  10. Let cook for 15 more minutes or until the squash is cooked and it tastes good to you. Add salt and pepper if you desire.

* I cooked it in the oven because I hate cutting/touching raw meat. If you want to cook it on the stovetop, you do you boo 🙂

** When you remove chicken from the oven, cover it with aluminum foil and don’t touch it for a minimum of 10 minutes! It makes it nice and juicy and tender.

TO ASSEMBLE (Serves 4 ish people):

  1. Rice in bowl
  2. Curry on top
  3. Dice chicken and arrange nicely on top
  4. Devour

It’s warm, spicy, gingery, and delightful. It’s also low FODMAP and free of other things so I’m not allergic to it. I dunno why I would cook something I’m allergic to though. This is awkward…

Anywho, enjoy!

~ Ailish

Leave a Reply

