The Cube Farm ~ A Poem

Hello everybody! I swear I’ve been going on my weekend adventures. I’ve just not been posting about them. I started my internship five weeks ago (omg!) and it’s been exhausting. Waking up at 5:10am every. single. morning. is not my cup of tea. I’m coping though. Actually, something that’s been helping me stay relatively relaxed is writing poems when I’m on break. It’s funny. I’m an engineer, but I’ve suddenly been inspired to write poems. I don’t get it.

Anyways, I thought I’d share a poem that I wrote a few weeks ago. I call it the Cube Farm, since that’s where I work (not literally, but you get the idea).

The Cube Farm

The sound of silence. Of one person typing on their keyboard. Pausing.

Shuffles.

The sound of a smartphone being set down stealthily,

only to resume typing again, as if it never happened.

Another person begins typing.

Another clicks away.

A symphony of soloists working

alone, yet together, in a cube farm.

Edged on by the sound of silence.

Tada! I know, I’m not really the best poet, but it’s fun. Anyways, that’s all for now. I feel like such a granny, as I’m tired and it’s only 8:07pm.

I hope you had a lovely Monday!

~ Ailish

2 thoughts on “The Cube Farm ~ A Poem

Leave a Reply

