Tides of Change

Just as water becomes toxic if it remains stagnant over time, so too does life. I think it’s important to always be  progressing, whether it’s by going with the flow or by carving a new path through rock and sand.

I’ll admit, sometimes I’m afraid of change. I’ll have big plans and enjoy mulling them over in my mind, but to actually act on those plans is another story entirely. I think it’s the fear of the unknown that really gets me nervous. However, I wanted this summer to be different. The waves of change are already bound to hit in September, so I figured I would start creating little ripples now.

After much consideration and some hesitation, I decided to introduce these ripples in the form of weekend adventures and crossfit. Both are something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time, but I could never quite muster the courage to take the plunge into the unknown and make a change in my life. Almost every weekend over the past four years has been the same – wake up, do homework, go to dance practice, do more homework, go on the internet, sleep. Now, instead of reading about other peoples weekend adventures, I’ll be able to carve my own. It’s practically unheard of. On Sunday my sister and I went on a 7 mile hike to a waterfall and then made an edible cupcake flower bouquet for our mom. Maybe it’s not as wild and crazy as other weekend warriors, but it’s a start.

Exhibit A: Home made edible flower bouquet created by yours truly and her sister from the same mister.
Exhibit A: Home made edible flower bouquet created by yours truly and her sister from the same mister.

Crossfit, on the other hand, is something I’ve been wanting to try since I first heard about it. I just never actually gave it a go because it scared the daylights out of me. The people who did that kind of stuff were so fit and strong, and I had myself convinced that I could never be one of them. I wasn’t strong enough or athletic enough. Recently something clicked in my mind and I realized that my self doubt was keeping me from doing something I would most likely really enjoy. I’m now signed up for a trial class next week. I’m excited and nervous, but I know it’s going to be awesome.

I hope you had a great Monday. Try to do something this week that makes you smile.

~ Ailish

Leave a Reply

