Sunburns and Makeup

Hello World!!!!!! This post is sponsored by sunshine and the first day of summer break. I. Am. Ecstatic. Actually, I’m not, as I still have to pack up my life and move into my new house. But hey, fake it ’till you make it, right?

What I am ecstatic for is the sun. It’s been bright and warm for the past week. Which meant I got to unleash shorts, tank tops, and pale northern skin. I’m not joking when I say the sun reflecting off of my arms could have rivaled the sparkle of Edward from Twilight… not that I’ve ever seen Twilight or anything… >_> … moving on.

Unfortunately with all of the sun, I’ve graduated from a pasty face to a pink one, which prompted me to break out the makeup, which prompted me to look up new makeup inspiration online, which spiraled into hair, and fashion, and a few (guilt free) hours later I realized how much I miss this stuff. Fashion, that is. Part of me wants to make this into a fashion/crafty/life journal. I was writing about dance and exercise all the time, however it was starting to bog me down and make me feel like every time I wrote, it had to be some great self revelation or something really serious. I don’t think that’s very good for me at this point in my life, especially with trying to get into a healthy mindset about being kinder to myself.

I specifically made this journal so I could look back and remember that even within stressful times, happiness can always be found (hence the name Douce Lumière, or sweet light). Fashion is definitely someplace where I can lighten up and wear whatever makes me happy, whether it be ballerina or punk rock inspired. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll still write about dance occasionally. It will just be in a more uplifting light. I’m not really sure why I’m writing this right now, but I feel better, and this is my little space on the inter webs to do what I please. So there.

If the weather stays nice (and hopefully it will) I might break out my camera and go for a photo walk to procrastinate on packing more. I’ll share some of them if I do go out.

I hope you have a lovely, sunshine filled day!

Ailish

Leave a Reply

