Little Things

This school year has been stressful. It’s been filled to the brim with sleepless nights, mounds of homework, sick days, and grumpiness. It’s also been filled with a lot of little things that make being in a stressful major so worth wile. I’ve made some awesome friends in my classes and my housemates and living situation, while not always perfect, is pretty darn amazing.

I also think that being so stressed has made me find a newfound appreciation for properly taking care of myself. I tend to fall into the mindset that I need to be really focused and have an ‘all or nothing’ attitude to everything I do. Reality check, try balancing school, dance, basic needs that parents used to do for me, and faith all at once and you’ll drive yourself nuts. I think some moderation is needed, and I’m very grateful that this week has gone much better than the past four. I don’t think I was meant to be valedictorian, principle soloist dancer, master chef, and theologian all at once, and if I were, I probably wouldn’t be very happy whilst doing it.

Here are some things that make me happy though. I’ve recently re-found my love for couture fashion. These are some photos that make me particularly happy. An engineers gotta have some style in her life, right?

Intricate hairstyles and pretty pins make me happy 🙂
~ She was all yellow ~
The light; the dress; the hair; the atmosphere
When I was little I wanted to be a faerie. I think this would have been my dress.

It’s funny how girly things make me so happy. Last year I used to take homework breaks by trying out makeup looks I saw on YouTube or by putting together outfits. I stopped because I didn’t think it was good to be doing anything other than schoolwork. Now that I’m practicing moderation a little better (baby steps, right?) I’m actually getting more motivated to do schoolwork because it’s kind of fun. I’m also finally getting into a good practice routine for dance. I think I might make my half hour ‘me time’ a time to do fashion-y stuff again. I’ve really missed that part of me.

For those who are interested, these images were found on the Tumblr blog Chiffon et Ribbons. Her entire fashion photo collection makes me so happy. Also, the cover image for this post was found on gorgeousssleep’s Instagram page.

Happy almost Friday! I hope you make tomorrow stunning 🙂

~ Ailish

One thought on “Little Things

Leave a Reply

