Dance First, Think Later. It’s the Natural Order.

I’m starting to get so excited for the North Americans. For the first time since I started study abroad, I was able to practice yesterday. Before I started practicing, I was so nervous because I kept thinking all of these little negative ‘what ifs’… what if my stamina was gone… what about technique… I almost didn’t practice because I was beginning to convince myself that I would just do it tomorrow and that I was too tired from waking up at 5:30am and riding a train for 7 hours from Budapest to Salzburg.

But I ignored myself. I did it! I practiced and it felt so good. I was able to keep my head in the game and get some really productive drill work done. My allotted half hour practice turned into an hour because as I kept going, I realized that I didn’t need to be afraid about ‘getting back into it’ or all of the other thoughts that had been bothering me. I just needed to dance. They say “dance first, think later. That’s the natural order.” I’m telling you, it’s so true.

I can’t wait until tonight when I’m going to practice again. My roommate and I are going to start dinner soon (spiced roast chicken breasts with potatoes and carrots) and then I can practice after that, as the classroom will be empty once we finish.

I also have a morning workout prepared for tomorrow, and dance practice in the evening. This is really happening y’all! I qualified for the North American Nationals at the Regional Championships, I’m going, and I have a plan to make my dreams come true.

I hope you have a splendid day! I’ll write about my weekend in Budapest tomorrow. Right now, it’s dinner time 🙂

P.S. I read this post about being healthy/food/weight last night and it really hit home with me, so I wanted to share it with you too.

2 thoughts on “Dance First, Think Later. It’s the Natural Order.

Leave a Reply

