On Attaining Smoothie Enlightenment

My mom is a goddess at finding hidden morsels of important information, such as a plants Latin name and its thriving habitats, how to choose and grow said plants (without exploding the water bill) such that our backyard in the desert looks like an English garden, historical details about artists during the Harlem Renaissance, and the proper ratio of smoothie ingredients that will unlock the secrets to enlightenment.

You might be thinking “hold the phone! smoothies are great and all, but enlightenment?! come on.”

However, when you’re sick, hungry but not wanting to eat, and in need of some antioxidant-packed-vitamin-C-filled-omega-3-boasting-fiberlicious-drink (that doesn’t taste awful *cough cough* Jamba Juice) then look no further. My momma’s got me and you covered. She’s the smoothie maestro. Praise the Lord for moms 🙂

Strawberry Banana Smoothie*

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1 cup (or 6 medium sized strawberries)
  • 3/4 – 1 banana (depending on size)
  • 3 crushed ice cubes (if fruit isn’t frozen)

Method:

  1. dump stuff into blender
  2. blend
  3. drink, feel better, and thank your mom

* note: I’ll ask my mom for the link she found this smoothie concoction at so I can share it with you.

So far, I’ve made a variation on this smoothie using apple juice, strawberries, banana, 1 tbsp peanut butter, 2 tsp chia seeds, and ice. I’ve also been wanting to make one that consists of almond milk, chocolate protein powder, peanut butter, banana, and ice. My golly do I love smoothies! I’ll probably try adding some greens next… we’ll see how that goes down.

In the meantime, stay healthy and enjoy the transition to summer 🙂

P.S. I did actually take a picture of the smoothie on my phone… but I didn’t get the chance to upload my phones photos before I flew to my friends house in Washington, and I don’t have said phone with me because I’m leaving for Europe tomorrow and I’m so excited!!! In the meantime, you’ll have to enjoy the feature photo of light flooding the beach in Maui. It’s symbolism for enlightenment, since Hawaii makes the best smoothies ever (sorry mom…) and light always reveals truth. Booyah.

Leave a Reply

