Click

Sometimes when life gets stressful, random things start to click… like how to cook. The past few weeks have been crazy, and I’m sure it’s about to get worse with a project and report due on Wednesday, a midterm on Thursday, and three essays due Monday. But never fear, I’ve learned how to cook.

Don’t get me wrong, I already knew how to cook. I just didn’t know how to throw stuff together make it taste awesome. Let me set the scene.

It was raining on Friday. I had to take a cab downtown to fill out some paperwork for an internship that I applied for. Luckily I finished early and was able to make it back home to get ready for dance class. I got ready, put my rain boots on, and walked to the shuttle that drops university students off at the metro station. The shuttle wasn’t running that day. It started pouring. I saw the bus come to the stop at the other side of the parking lot. I sprinted to it in my rain boots, my dance bag thumping heavily at my side. I missed the bus by 10 seconds. The next bus didn’t come for another 40 minutes, so I called a cab. They said they’d be able to get to me in 15 minutes. I waited under an evergreen tree for 45 minutes. When they arrived I was soaked through and had missed half of dance class. Thankfully, my dance instructor allowed me to stay for the next class and proceeded to work me like there was no tomorrow. It felt awesome. I stopped at the grocery store, missed the bus on the way back by 10 seconds (again) thanks to a busy intersection, and made dinner at 9pm. I ate dinner at 9:20pm. It was spicy, warm, hearty, healthy, and I’m kind of upset that I finished the leftovers for dinner today.

5 ingredients. 20 minutes. We got this.

*This is the part of the show where I’m supposed to insert a photo so you can see how good it looks. I took a photo. I uploaded said photo to my computer. Said computer obviously liked the photo of my dish so much that it virtually ate it… Proof that it tastes awesome. But if this continues, I don’t think this human – computer relationship can last much longer. I need my photos o__O

What you’ll need:

  • 0.5 lbs ground beef
  • 1 large head of broccoli, chopped
  • 15 oz (I think) can of lentils, drained
  • 1 Sukhi’s Vindaloo curry packet
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup quinoa

Heat pot on medium-high and sauté ground beef until browned and cooked through. As it’s cooking, crumble into bite sized pieces. Add broccoli, lentils, curry packet, and water. Bring to a simmer and cook until sauce thickens, about 15 minutes.

In the meantime, cook the quinoa per package directions.

To be honest, you’ll get similar instructions on the back of the curry packet (which, by the way, is organic and gluten free). However in every cooking endeavor, one must take baby steps. Mine started with the back of a packet telling me that I needed some meat (if desired), veggies, and to cook it for roughly 15 minutes. I can tell you that I kind of panicked at the lack of an exact cook time, but I’m so glad I tried it.

Tonight I’m going to try making something completely on my own using leftovers, mainly because I can’t get to the grocery store today and I don’t have enough ingredients to follow a recipe. Using a mini fridge and a kitchen the size of a small bathroom (yay dorm life!) isn’t conducive to cooking fancy meals. But just because there aren’t a lot of ingredients doesn’t mean it can’t taste scrumptious 🙂

Have a beautiful day! I’ll try and find those food pictures somewhere 😉

P.S. The featured photo is from a summer camp that I attended a few years ago. It was so relaxing and beautiful and a place that I would love to go back to… a perfect stress reliever.

Leave a Reply

