It’s Only the Third Week

I don’t mean to complain, but it’s just been one of those days. If you’re not into complaining, ignore the following paragraph. I will also post some photos I took over Christmas break. I’m gonna need some happy memories to make this week go smoothly.

Anyhow… It’s only the third week of spring semester, and I had my first exam and paper due today. I have two more papers due this week, a mountain of engineering homework, reading to do for ethics and psychology, scales to print out for music, and things to sketch for fine arts. I need to make graphs from the data we collected from the tensile testing lab today. I jammed my toe into my desk chair, found out that I have to redo my dynamics homework because I bought the wrong edition of the book (which, of course, was the one they were selling at the university bookstore and cost a lovely $168). Did I mention it’s due tomorrow? I also made an appointment with the health center because the front of my foot (opposite to the achilles tendon) has been hurting for over a month and I’m starting to get concerned. I can’t go to dance practice tonight because of my foot and my mound of homework. I probably shouldn’t even be writing right now so I can study, but my brain is having difficulty focusing on my psychology textbook. When is studying neurotransmitters useful for an engineering student?!?

Wow. That was surprisingly alleviating. It’s helpful to see everything that has gone wrong, because it makes it so tangible. Worries aren’t floating around in my head anymore like elusive gnats. I’ve set them aflame! Er… at least I can start fixing them now. Hot chocolate helps too 🙂

I suppose there’s a lot of good in this week as well. Tomorrow I have a meeting for study’s abroad! I got accepted into the program to travel to Austria over the summer and take engineering courses. While I’m there I get to travel to Germany, Hungary, Slovenia… I’m so excited! Especially since I haven’t traveled outside of America yet. I am a bit nervous about eating gluten-free overseas though.

On Wednesday my future housemates and I are also going to go check out a rental near campus so we can have a place to live next year. I’m so excited for the prospect of a real kitchen to cook in! Tonight all I had for dinner was some Amy’s chili. It’s really good and all, but I want to make home-cooked food :/ after dance class on Friday I think I’ll stop by the grocery store to pick up some real cooking supplies. Then the fun can begin!

Speaking of fun, here are some photos that I took over Christmas break when I was back home in my lovely desert paradise. It’s so different from where my university is located, as it’s always rainy and cold here. Enjoy!

Baby oranges from the orange tree we recently bought.
Baby oranges from the orange tree we recently bought.
My mom painted the clay pot when I was really young.
My mom painted the clay pot when I was really young.
Our baby Fuji apple tree lost his leaves.
Our baby Fuji apple tree lost his leaves.
O Tannenbaum, o Tannenbaum,wie treu sind deine Blätter!
O Tannenbaum, o Tannenbaum,
wie treu sind deine Blätter!
IMGP3192_2
Bokeh! I’m obsessed with bokeh ever since I got a camera that can capture it. The lights behind the leaf are Christmas lights.
Birch tree seed pods and a firey sunset.
Birch tree seed pods and a firey sunset.
My little puppy is the cutest thing in the world. I may be biased.
My little puppy is the cutest thing in the world. I may be biased.

Ah, I feel so much better now. I think I’ll have to go on a photo walk this weekend, as I haven’t done that since I got back to school.

Hope you have a good week 🙂

P.S. All photos were taken with a Pentax K100 D.

Leave a Reply

